Title Sponsor: Peacocks

2018 Playoff Champions
2017/18 Elite League Champions

Devils Win FIrst League Title in 20 Years!!

Devils Win FIrst League Title in 20 Years!!

We did it!!  After 20 years, the Cardiff Devils are league champions again!!

A 6-2 win in Sheffield over the Steelers confirmed the victory.

The Devils scored on the first shift when Andrew Lord set up Mark Richardson for the opening goal just 26 seconds into the game.  From there the Devils rolled. 


Devils made it 2-0 on a five-on-three powerplay as Joey Haddad teed up Patrick Asselin, who put the puck away at the back door and Cardiff fans began to sense the dream was on.

Steelers hit back early in the second period to perhaps add some nervous energy to proceedings as Ben O’Connor’s blue line shot beat Ben Bowns in the Devils’ goal.

But the Welsh side weren’t going to let this slip now and Joey Martin buried home a loose puck to make it 3-1 and life difficult again for the home side.


Sean Bentivoglio almost certainly kick started the party for Cardiff when he took advantage of a Colton Fretter error to fire his shot past Steelers netminder Ervins Mustukovs to add a fourth for Cardiff.

While Geoff Walker closed the deficit to two for the Steelers inside the final ten minutes, the celebration was well underway as the people of Wales knew more silverware was coming.

Lord added to the party with a tip for Devils’ fifth goal before Patrick Bordeleau rounded off a truly memorable night with an empty netter, securing the points to clinch the championship.


Ben Bowns who entered the building on crutches, somehow battled through the pain to play, and he was superb, stopping 21 of the 23 shots he faced for the win. The celebrations started in the Sheffield Arena and will certainly continue Sunday night when teh Devils will be presented with the League Championship Trophy after their home match against the Fife Flyers. 


Other News